Start New PC Affidavit
Access PC Affidavit System

Follow Us Online...   Facebook Twitter Newsletter
Weber County Corrections

Local Emergency Planning Commiitee

Mission Statement
The Weber County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is committed to understanding and reducing the risks of natural or industrial emergencies to local residents through hazardous material awareness, preparedness, planning, response, and recovery.

Mission Goals

  • Educate the public regarding the potential risks of hazardous materials being stored in, or transported through, Weber County and to respond to inquiries under the Community Right-to-Know laws.
  • Provide focus and support to local facilities and companies using hazardous materials and to foster dialog to plan for an effective response in the event of an accidental release.
  • Assess the natural and technological hazards existing in Weber County for their impact on the lives, property, and environment of local residents.
  • Adopt policies, rules, and procedures through resolution, to accomplish the goals and objectives of the Weber County LEPC.

LEPC Purpose and Objectives

The purposes and objectives of the Local Emergency Planning Committee are:

  1. To hold scheduled public meetings to establish short and long-range plans subject to Title III, the Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness Program.
  2. To provide support and focus on the hazardous materials in fixed facilities and transportation routes by performing a hazards analysis or updating the current analysis utilized.
  3. To give guidance in the development of the County Hazardous Materials Emergency Plan/Annex that utilizes the expertise, resources, and methods that are cost-effective and provide for timely reaction by the county.
  4. To receive notification from the public on area concerns and/or problems.
  5. To respond to Community Right-to-Know Act requests.
  6. To conduct post-incident evaluation of emergency-response with agencies that were involved.

Who Should Belong?

  • Elected and local officials
  • Law Enforcement
  • Civil Defense/Homeland Security
  • Firefighters
  • First Aid/EMS/Hospitals
  • Local Environmental and Transportation Agencies
  • Public works/Utilities
  • Broadcast and Print Media
  • Community Groups
  • Any group representative of facilities that are subject to the Emergency Planning and Right-to-Know Act requirements.
  • Any citizen concerned, and willing to assist the LEPC, about hazardous materials in the community.


Congresses’ passage of Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA), also known as the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), was the culmination of social and political events that focused attention on the potential for chemical accidents and their impact on human health and the environment.

During the 1970s and 1980s, a series of environmental laws created programs to address pollution released into the environment: the Clean Water Act, the Clean Air Act, the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, and so forth. These events, together with a growing body of knowledge about chemical use and risks, spurred Congress to enact, and EPA to implement, SARA Title III.

SARA Title III has two distinct goals: to encourage and support emergency planning for responding to chemical accidents, and to provide both local government and the public with information about chemical hazards in their community. The statute sets up a framework for emergency planning at the state and local level, and provides the authority to collect chemical information important to the communities.

EPCRA’s emergency planning provisions are designed to promote the discovery and mitigation of risks associated with chemical use. To reduce risks, EPA encourages prevention, preparedness, and quick response. In addition to the emergency planning provisions developed under the Chemical Emergency Preparedness Program, the community right-to-know provisions of SARA Title III provide a data-gathering process to increase awareness of chemical risks in the community.

In Weber County, the LEPC meets on the first Wednesday of every month to promote community awareness and public safety preparedness. Recent accomplishments include Small Business and Home Owner disposal of hazardous wastes, creation of the Weber Hazmat Task Force, peer exchanges with Davis and Box Elder Counties, County-wide hazmat response plan, cost recovery ordinances, and the creation of a business outreach program.

Tier II Reports

Tier 2 reports are only accepted in a digital format.
Send the Tier 2 reports to Lance Petserson

For more information on Tier II report submission, please download our Tier II Information Packet. (Acrobat-PDF Format)

For full information on Tier II submission and to download the required Tier II Submit Software, please visit:

You may also contact the appropriate LEPC contact for your area as found below.

LEPC Leadership
Chair 2016
Deputy Chief Jeff Comeau

Co-Chair 2016
Michelle Villegas
Phone: 801-317-6079

Secretary 2016  (Send Tier2 reports via email)
Lance Peterson
Phone: 801-778-6682

Tier II committee
Daren Koldewyn (For questions regarding the Tier2 report)

John Rasband (For questions regarding the Tier2 report)

Local LEPC Contacts
North Ogden, PleasantView, Harrisville Cities
NorthView Fire District
Chief Dave Wade

Ogden City
Deputy Chief Matt Schwenk
Phone: 801-629-8076

South Ogden
Chief Cameron West

Roy City
Deputy Chief Jeff Comeau

Riverdale City
Chief Jared Sholley

Phone: 801-394-7481

Unincorporated Weber County - Weber Fire District
Weber Fire also serves the following cities: Farr West, Marriot/Slaterville, West Haven, Hooper, Huntsville
Deputy Chief Paul Sullivan

Phone: (801) 782-3580


721 West 12th Street
Ogden, Utah 84404

Business Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Excluding Holidays

Lobby Hours
8:00 AM to 9:00 PM, Daily
(Holidays 4:00 to 9:00 PM)

Tip Line