Sex Offender Registry
The Weber County Sheriff’s Office is proud to serve the citizens of Weber County. The Sex Offender Registry consists of personnel who are dedicated and committed to serving the citizens of Weber County and making sure that all Sex Offenders stay in compliance with the Utah State Sex Offender Laws. In part with the Weber Sex Offender Task Force, the Weber County Sheriff’s Office monitors and tracks all of the Sex Offenders who are no longer on Probation/Parole with AP&P.
It is the Sheriff’s Office goal to provide the citizens of Weber County with a high professional level of service. The community plays a large role in assisting law enforcement with Sex Offenders who are in non-compliance with the Utah State Sex Offender Registry. You can access the Utah State Sex Offender Registry thru the following link: http://corrections.utah.gov. If anyone has information related to a violation of a sex offender’s compliancy status or know of an offender that is not currently on the registry website, you are encouraged to contact the Weber County Sheriff’s Office at (801)778-6654.
If you are a registered offender living within the Weber County Sheriff’s Office jurisdiction and are currently not on probation or parole with AP&P, you are required to update your information at the Weber County Sheriff’s Office. In order to update your information you must schedule an appointment to register, please contact the Sheriff’s Office at (801)778-6654 to make an appointment. As of July 1, 2010, the Weber County Sheriff’s Office will be charging a $25 supervision fee annually, which will be assessed during the month of your birth.
77-27-21.5 Sex Offender Registration Requirements
Utah Code Annotated, Section 77-27-21.5 requires registration for offender who:
Have been convicted of any crime, or an attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit a crime in any other jurisdiction that is substantially equivalent to the offenses listed in Subsection (1)(g) or (n).
Are required to register as an offender in any other jurisdiction, who are in the state for TEN (10) DAYS within a 12-month period, regardless of whether or not the offender intends to permanently reside in this state.
Are a nonresident regularly employed, working or a student in this state and was convicted of one or more offenses listed in Subsection (1)(g) or (n), or any substantially equivalent offense in any jurisdiction, or as a result of conviction is required to register in the offender’s jurisdiction of residence.
Have been convicted of, or found not guilty by reason of insanity in this state or in any other jurisdiction, of one or more offenses listed in Subsection (1)(g) or (n). Have been adjudicated delinquent based on one or more offenses listed in Subsection (1)(g) or (n) and who has been committed to the Division of Juvenile Justice Services for secure confinement and remains in the division’s custody 30 days prior to the offender’s 21st birthday.
All offenders having a duty to register under Section 77-27-21.5 may be subject to registration requirements in accordance with the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006. Offenders shall register for the duration of their sentence and for the additional required time under Subsection 77‐27‐21.5(12)(a) through (d), or in the frequency and duration of the conviction jurisdiction if longer or more frequent, and shall report:
Within THREE (3) WORKING DAYS of ANY change in habitation
The physical/residential address is required as well as any secondary or temporary addresses.
Post office boxes are only accepted with submission of documentation of physical/residential address. Including relocation out of the State of Utah.
Within THREE (3) WORKING DAYS of ANY change in vehicle information, to include:
- The type of vehicle or vehicles the offender owns or regularly operates including;
- Make, model, color, license plate number, year, and the vehicle identification number
- Vehicles include any motor vehicle, aircraft, or watercraft subject to registration in any jurisdiction.
Within THREE (3) WORKING DAYS of ANY change in educational affiliation information.
- Education institutions include, but are not limited to public or private:
- Primary (elementary, junior high or middle school, high school)
- Secondary (college, university)
- Trade Schools
- Affiliations include, but are not limited to on-line or physical presence:
- Carrying on a vocation at
- Employed at
- Enrolled or Attending at
- Volunteering at
Within THREE (3) WORKING DAYS of ANY change in place of employment
Offenders are required to register twice a year, both during the month of the offender’s birth and six months after the offenders’ birth month. Offenders not convicted by the State of Utah must register according to the most frequent and longer registration period.
An offender shall surrender the offender’s license, certificate or identification card as required under Subsection 53-3-216(3) or 53-3-807(4) and may apply for a license certificate or identification card as provided under Section 53-3-205 or 53-3-804.
Offenders are also required to submit a copy of their passport or immigration papers when registering if applicable.
Verification of address every 60 days, if subject to a lifetime parole agreement.
Each offender who is not currently confined in a secure facility or in a state mental hospital shall pay to the department an annual fee of $100 each year the offender is subject to the registration requirements. This fee is payable during the month of the offender’s birth.
Offenders are required to make notification to:
The state or territorial agency in the states where the registrant presently resides and plans to reside when moving across state lines.
The out-of-state agency where the offender is living, whether or not the offender is a resident of that state.
The out-of-state agency where the offender is subject to registration under that state’s laws for the time period the offender will be in that state.
Notwithstanding Section 42-1-1, an offender may not change his/her name:
While under supervision of and/or in the custody of the Department of Corrections.
Until the registration requirements under UCA § 77-27-21.5 have expired.
At any time, if the registration is for life.
Notwithstanding Section 77-18-9 through 77-18-14 regarding expungement, an offender as defined by Section 77-27-21.5 1(g) or (n) is not relieved from the responsibility to register. In accordance with Section 77-27-21.5(16), An offender who knowingly fails to register under this section is guilty of:
A Third Degree Felony, if the offender is:
Required to register based on a felony conviction; or adjudicated delinquent for what would be a felony conviction if juvenile were an adult. Required to register for the offender’s lifetime under Section 77-27-21.5(12)(c)
A Class A Misdemeanor, if the offender is:
Required to register based on a Misdemeanor conviction or adjudicated delinquent for what would be a misdemeanor conviction if juvenile were an adult.
Neither the court nor the Board of Pardons and Parole may release an offender who violates this section from serving a term of at least 90 days and completing probation of at least one year.
In accordance with Section 77-27-21.5 all registered offenders not required to register for life must remain compliant with the terms listed above for a minimum of TEN (10) YEARS before they may be removed from the registry. In accordance with Section 77-21-21.5(14) an offender shall register for an additional year for every year in which the offender does not comply with the registration requirements of this section.
All offenders having a duty to register under Section 77-27-21.5 and who’s crime was against a child are not to request or solicit a child younger than the age 14 to accompany the offender for any purpose. Unless the offender has notified the child’s parents or legal guardian and has a letter from the child’s parents or legal guardian in their possession giving the offender permission to have the child accompany them. Violation of this statute will result in a class A misdemeanor and add an additional consecutive 5 years on the registry. Natural Parents or Legal Guardians are exempt.
In accordance with Subsection 14 an offender shall provide the department or the registering agency with the following:
All names and aliases, the addresses of primary and secondary residences, offender’s physical description, vehicle information, current photograph of the offender, fingerprints, DNA, all telephone information, internet identifiers, addresses and passwords not used for business or finance, copy of passports and immigration status, all professional licenses, all educational institution affiliations, employment information, all volunteer information and affiliations, and social security number.
To read UCA 77-27-21.5 in its entirety, click here.
77-27-21.7. Sex offender restrictions.
(1) As used in this section:
(a) "Protected area" means the premises occupied by:
(i) any licensed day care or preschool facility;
(ii) a swimming pool that is open to the public;
(iii) a public or private primary or secondary school that is not on the grounds of a correctional facility;
(iv) a community park that is open to the public; and
(v) a playground that is open to the public, including those areas designed to provide children space, recreational equipment, or other amenities intended to allow children to engage in physical activity.
(b) (i) Except under Subsection (1)(b)(ii), "protected area" also includes any area that is 1,000 feet or less from the residence of a victim of the sex offender's offense under Subsection (1)(c) if:
(A) the sex offender is on probation or parole for an offense under Subsection (1)(c);
(B) the victim or the victim's parent or guardian has advised the Department of Corrections that the victim desires that the sex offender be restricted from the area under this Subsection (1)(b)(i) and authorizes the Department of Corrections to advise the sex offender of the area where the victim resides for purposes of this Subsection (1)(b); and
(C) the Department of Corrections has notified the sex offender in writing that the sex offender is prohibited from being in the protected area under Subsection (1)(b)(i) and has also provided a description of the location of the protected area to the sex offender.
(ii) "Protected area" under Subsection (1)(b)(i) does not apply to the residence and area surrounding the residence of a victim if:
(A) the victim is a member of the immediate family of the sex offender; and
(B) the terms of the sex offender's agreement of probation or parole allow the sex offender to reside in the same residence as the victim.
(c) "Sex offender" means an adult or juvenile who is required to register under Section 77-27-21.5 due to a conviction for any offense that is committed against a person younger than 18 years of age.
(2) It is a class A misdemeanor for any sex offender to be in any protected area on foot or in or on any vehicle, including vehicles that are not motorized, except for:
(a) those specific periods of time when the sex offender must be present within a protected area in order to carry out necessary parental responsibilities;
(b) when the protected area is a school building:
(i) under Subsection (1)(a)(iii);
(ii) being opened for or being used for a public activity; and
(iii) not being used for any school-related function that involves persons younger than 18 years of age; or
(c) when the protected area is a licensed day care or preschool facility:
(i) under Subsection (1)(a)(i); and
(ii) located within a building that is open to the public for purposes, services, or functions that are operated separately from the day care or preschool facility located in the building, except that the sex offender may not be in any part of the building occupied by the day care or preschool facility.
To read UCA 77-27-21.7 in its entirety, click here.
77-27-21.8. Sex offender in presence of a child -- Definitions -- Penalties.
"Accompany" means to be in the presence of an individual and to move or travel with that individual from one location to another, whether outdoors, indoors, or in or any type of vehicle.
"Child" means an individual younger than 14 years of age.
A sex offender subject to registration for an offense committed or attempted to be committed against a child younger than 14 years of age is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if the sex offender requests, invites, or solicits a child to accompany the sex offender, under circumstances that do not constitute an attempt to violate the child kidnapping statute unless:
-the sex offender, prior to accompanying the child:
(A) verbally advises the child’s parent or legal guardian that the sex offender is on the state sex offender registry and is required by state law to obtain written permission in order for the sex offender to accompany the child and requests that the child’s parent or legal guardian provide written authorization for the sex offender to accompany the child, including specific dates and locations or; (B) the child’s parent or legal guardian has provided to the sex offender written authorization, including specific dates and locations, for the sex offender to accompany the child and the sex offender has possession of the written authorization and is accompanying the child only at the dates and locations specified in the authorization. (C) the child’s parent or guardian has verbally authorized the sex offender to accompany the child either in the child’s residence or on property appurtenant to the child’s residence, but in no other locations; or (D) the child is the natural child of the sex offender, and the offender is not prohibited by any court order, or probation or parole provision, from contact with the child.
A sex offender convicted of a violation under this section is subject to registration for an additional five years subsequent to the required registration under section 77-27-21.5. The period of additional registration imposed is also in addition to any period of registration for failure to comply with the registration requirements. It is not a defense to a prosecution under this section that the defendant mistakenly believed the individual to be 14 years of age or older at the time of the offense or was unaware of the individual’s true age. This section does not apply if a sex offender is acting to rescue a child who is in an emergency and/or life-threatening situation.
To read UCA 77-27-21.8 in its entirety, click here.
For questions about the Utah Sex Offender Registry, please contact the Utah Department of Correction, Sex Offender Registry Unit, at 801-495-7700.