Weber County Home
Weber County Search

Weber County Government
Department Pages

Weber Arts Council

About the Treasurer

John is a resident of Roy City where he resides with his wife, T.J. and children. His children are 6th generation Weber County citizens. His first family relatives in Weber County moved to Marriott settlement in 1863. Since that time, family members have been active in building the county through developing businesses, railroading, and as educators.

He was hired by Weber County in 1992 to establish the county’s first-ever internal auditor position. In 1995, he joined former county treasurer, Nila B. Dayton as her chief deputy treasurer and had responsibility for the collection and disbursement of taxpayer monies as well as managed the upgrading of the office’s accounting practices and computer programming.

In May 2009, Nila B. Dayton resigned as county treasurer due to health concerns. The Weber County Commissioners appointed John in June 2009 to fill the unexpired term of Ms. Dayton and has been subsequently elected county treasurer.

He is a graduate of Weber State University (B.S. - Finance), Utah State University (Master -Business Administration) and is a graduate of the Advanced Government Finance Institute. He has been active in the Government Finance Officers Association (an organization of local government employees with a national membership of 17,000) as a national committee member of the Technology Resource Group and locally was a 2-year president of the 175-member Utah chapter.

He has enjoyed his involvement in the Weber County Sheriff’s Citizen Academy, Weber State University Storytelling Festival and hosting foreign-exchange students through Roy High School. He was appointed in 2013 by Governor Gary Herbert to the 5-member, Money Management Council that oversees all public deposits and investments in Utah to ensure the safety of public funds. He served on the board of the Weber Human Services Foundation. He is a past-president of the Utah Association of County Treasurers and was honored as Utah’s ‘Outstanding County Treasurer of the Year’ in 2012 and 2013.